Pakistan's Presidential Elections (updates)

Thirty-two presidential candidates have filed their nomination papers; prominent among them are Co Chairman of Pakistan People Party Parliamentarian Mr. Asif Ali Zardari, retired Justice Siddiqi of PML (N) and Mr. Mushahid Hussain of PML (Q). Presidential candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till 31st of August, polling will be held on 6th of September 2008.
Co Chairman of PPPP Mr। Asif Ali Zardari is a widower of Muhtarima Benazir Bhutto Shaheed, his victory is quite sure because PPPP, MQM, ANP and JUI elected members in federal and provincial legislatures will vote in his favor, PML (N) has opted for departure from PPPP lead coalition government on issue of restoration of deposed judges but is unable to cause any major upset, PPPP lead coalition still enjoys comfortable majority in alliance with ANP, MQM and JUI.
Nomination papers of three major contestants in Pakistan’s Presidential Elections are approved after scrutiny by Election Commission authorities on Thursday morning; no objection was raised from any quarters against candidacy of Co Chairman of PPPP Mr. Asif Ali Zardari, Mr Mushaid Hussain of PML (Q) and retired Justice Sidiqi of PML (N).
‘Meanwhile 25 militants are killed in Bajure tribal agency on Thursday in ongoing security forces operation against militants,’ ISPR sources have said। According to news bulletin of state owned media nine policemen are killed in remote control bomb attack on police van in Bannu district of NWFP Pakistan on Thursday morning।

Focus of Presidential Election Campaign in Pakistan is elected members of federal and provincial legislatures, presidential candidates are trying to convince their electors to win their votes, Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gailani had visited Quetta to win elected members of provincial legislature of Baluchistan in favor of his party presidential candidate Mr. Asif Ali Zardari, according to state owned media Mr. Asif Ali Zardari has the support of PPPP, JUI, MQM, ANP and BNP. PML (N) candidate retired justice Saeed uz Zaman Siddiqi and PML (Q) candidate Mr. Mushahid Hussain are also quite actively striving to win maximum votes.
According to PPPP sources Mr. Asif Ali Zardari will get majority vote from both houses of federal legislature including NWFP, Sindh and Baluchistan provincial assemblies, only in Punjab provincial assembly PML (N) candidate will win majority because of the split in PPPP lead coalition government PML (N) has nominated its own presidential candidate and in Punjab provincial assembly majority seats are with PML (N).

Submitted by
Abdur Raziq
Post a Comment